Primary Education - Syllabus

Primary Education begins at Grade 3 and finishes in Grade 8. It caters for the 9 to 14 year age group.

Lower primary education comprises Grades 3 to 5, upper primary Grades 6 to 8.

Since 2012 all children completing grade 6 can be accommodated in grade 7. A 70% grade 1 to 6 retention rate to be achieved. The government's goal is that every six year old child enters the elementary Preparatory Grade by 2012 and completes three years of basic relevent education.

Sufficient primary school classes established to achieve access and retention targets to accommodate UBE.



Subjects and Syllabus(s)

Lower Primary Students Syllabus Lower Primary Teacher Guides Upper Primary Students Syllabus Upper Primary Teacher Guides
Language Language Language 1 & 2 Language
Arts Arts Arts 1 & 2 Arts
Maths Maths Maths 1 & 2 Maths
Health Health Science 1 & 2 Science
Environmental Studies Environmental Studies Making a Living 1 & 2 Making a Living
Physical Education Physical Education Personal Development 1 & 2 Personal Development